Vegan Gummy Bears vs Unhealthy Options
Gummy bears have long been a favourite pastime, enjoyed by the young and those who are simply young at heart. Soft and squishy, they’re available in a multitude of flavours to try. In recent years, however, there’s been a push towards healthier snack options and plant-based foods. Will this spell the end for everybody’s favourite squishy treat? Not necessarily. Vegan gummy bears have been making quite a splash in recent years, and we’re here to tell you why.
What Are Gummy Bears?
The first traditional gummy bears were sold in Germany a long time ago. They were initially inspired by street-performing bears. Soon, the success of the candy was so much that various models resembled other animals and other common household items like rings . Because vegan gummy bears weren’t a thing back then, the gummy bear was initially made from a mix of glucose syrup, starch, sugar, flavoring, food coloring, citric acid, and gelatin.
However, over the years, various recipes have emerged, giving them new and novel tastes.
Health Issues Of Eating Gummy Bears
Traditionally-made gelatin-based gummy bears can contain unhealthy amounts of calories in the form of high-fructose corn syrup or other refined sugars. Especially for those who have diabetes, traditional gummy bears shouldn’t be considered just another casual snack but rather an unhealthy one.
What Are Vegan Vegan Gummy Bears?
The whole point of vegan gummies is to remove gelatin as an ingredient. In most vegan gummies, the critical ingredient is agar-agar powder or soluble fiber from tapioca instead of gelatin. These ingredients give you the same great texture of a gummy bear. As an added bonus, vegan gummies are also low on sugar!
Difference Between Vegan And Non-Vegan Gummy Bears
To be honest, it is pretty shocking to think that our favorite gummy bears are non-vegan. Most people do not know this, but the age-old regular gummy bears contain animal-derived products such as gelatin, beeswax, and red food color, while vegan gummy bears don’t.
Traditional vs Vegan Gummy Bears: Comparing the Ingredients
There are several differences between traditional gummies and vegan gummies. We’ve listed them below to help you understand the difference.
Beeswax is a common derivative of bees. that are domesticated to produce honey and Beeswax, and other products. While some vegans do not agree, we can conclude by definition that Beeswax is not vegan since it is derived from animals( i.e., bees. Vegan gummies are made to avoid Beeswax too.)
Gelatin is a sweetening substance that is derived primarily from pigs. If that wasn’t enough, gelatin is made from those parts of the animals that are discarded by the rest of the industry, such as hooves, skin, ground bones, and even connective tissue. vegan gummies on the other hand are gelatine-free and low-sugar.
The Red Coloring Agent Called The Red Food Color Number 4
The red food color 4 is derived by crushing these beetles and processing them.. Healthy vegan gummies all have naturally derived plant-based colors and are low sugar as well.
Traditional gummy bears were first created at a time when no one ever questioned food ingredients. Nor did people have any opinion on the differences and impacts of eating plant-based food over animal-based food. But today, we have all the best and even better alternatives than meat-based products.
Be smart! Switch to healthy vegan gummies today!